Emergency Room

Posted: September 24, 2012 in Poetry, Relationships

Image

An open wound. Breathless. Collapsed lung.  EKG was given. Results yielded a nonexistent heartbeat.  I was toxic. Sulking in my hospital bed of nails in the ICU as result of sweet love gone sour.  But there you were, in the waiting room…  Sitting there patiently.  Brave.  Giving me friendship at a time that I could’ve been harmful to you.  Yet you took advantage of those visiting hours.  Volunteering daily.  Injecting me with truth serum, wisdom, and encouraging words.   I was fully covered in the insurance you gave me that I was in good hands.   Health began to upgrade from critical to serious, to healed…   Revived by the grace of God. Pulse steady.  Heartbeat strong. Stepping back out on faith. Exiting the ICU, and I see you.  Still in the waiting room.  No longer in need of a heart monitor.  Just your fingers on my wrists.   Guiding me.  Showing me the doors out of the infirmary and onto the path of good health.  Where it feels great to take a step into a positive direction, where we walk out of that same waiting room, hand in hand.  Together…

Comments
  1. KlassAct1908 says:

    I love it! You’re really good at this.

  2. sunnydelyte21 says:

    You know I always enjoy your way with words!!

Leave a comment